Greetings, reader (yes that is supposed to be singular, and more than likely is an optimistic estimate of how many people will view this post at some point)! While rummaging through my freezer in a fruitless (pun intended) attempt at finding something worth eating at 10pm, I stumbled across a pack of frozen peas. These peas, which of course I ended up shoving even further into the depths of my freezer than they were before I discovered them, were part of the rations so kindly provided by my mother when I first moved into my apartment in May 2007. That got me thinking...does anyone actually enjoy eating peas? Sure, I can shove them down my throat from time to time if absolutely necessary (that's what she said), but where's the flavor? Aside from what is surely a small amount of nutritional value, I don't see much point for the existence of the pea.
The pea is also the source of what I have just now decided is one of the most annoying sayings in the English language, "...like two peas in a pod." For some reason that phrase conjures up the image of the overly cheerly, moderately overweight assistant to Mr. Rooney in Ferris Bueller. A great character, no doubt, but certainly someone that if they existed in real life would be annoying as hell (and probably be the only person that enjoys eating peas).
In the end, I think that eating peas is a lot like getting all dressed up and taking a family portrait at some professional studio. You'll begrudgingly go and won't be any worse off for it, but really you're just doing it to make your mom happy.
Monday, April 14, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment